As most of you know (ok...all 3 of you know), I was laid-off from my last job back in September. You can imagine how horrified I was only 9 days away from my due date and now without a job. But everything worked out OK. I got a nice severance package then was eligible to collect unemployment. The unemployment was nothing close to my salary but when combined with Jeremy's income was more than enough to get us by. Of course we had to cut back, but I was OK with that, as it meant I was able to stay home with my new baby!
Now here we are 8 months later and my original 26 weeks of unemployment is going to run out soon. In this tough economy the unemployment laws have changed and are now much more lenient. Here's how it works...if at the end of your original # of weeks you still don't have a job you are eligible for an extension of 13-20 additional weeks. They notify you by letter and I'm waiting fingers, toes, legs, and even eyes crossed for my letter.
Of course there are stipulations to this unemployment (as with pretty much anything the government does). You have to be actively looking for a job. While I have been sending my resume out, I've secretly been hoping not to get any calls. I love staying at home with my baby. I have been able to witness all her firsts so far and want to continue! And it helps that I'm pretty much getting paid to do so!
Low and behold...today I got a call from a staffing agency here in Gwinnett County. They are looking for a CSR for a local printing company that does direct mail and print on demand. This is exactly what I used to do. In fact, printing is all I've ever done...I know it forwards and backwards and even in my sleep sometimes. There in lies the problem!
I do love the work I used to do, but it pales in comparison to being at home with my baby! But oh the possibilities with a job! We wouldn't have to "cut back" anymore (wahoo...my baby could have name brand formula)! I could get rid of my piece of crap, 2 door stick and finally get my SUV! And we might actually be able to spend an entire week at the beach in the near future!
But me working means someone else is taking care of my baby ;-( And because we are 50 miles from our closest relatives, it would have to be a stranger. So it's either day care where I truly believe the employees couldn't care less about the kids or an in-home day care...where still I wouldn't really know the person. So I'm torn...the thought of not seeing my little girl take her first steps, get her first tooth, or say her first real words literally makes me want to vomit! And I know I wouldn't be the first or last mother to put their child in day care, but I just don't want to (which I'm sure others don't either). Maybe this would be easier if we were still in PC with all our friends and family.
I haven't been offered a job yet. They are still in the early screening process and will be setting up interviews in the next week or so. So I guess the only thing to do is wait, start interviewing child care providers, and pray that whatever the lord has in store for us we will work with it as best we can!
The End!
Laney
Friday, May 1, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment