Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Raegan Update

I haven't really talked much about her since I started this blog. So here are a few things about her (and some pix)!


1. She is 7 1/2 months old...OMG - time really does fly by when you are having fun!

2. She had her first Easter.

3. At her 6 month check-up she weighed 17.5 lbs.

4. Her favorite foods are squash, applesauce, cereal, and mac & cheese (all Gerber baby foods - no table/adult foods yet).
and last but certainly not least...

5. She can crawl!!! And she gets into everything!


Here are a few more for the road!

Who needs toys when you've got an empty box?!?!?!


Mommy and baby chillin in the car at Tre's birthday party...it was too cold outside for her!

That's it for now! Until next time!

Laney and Baby Raegan!

Monday, April 27, 2009

After Hours

This blog originally started out telling all about Raegan's regular daily routine. It was quickly becoming too long. When I finally got to the actual point, I realized all that other stuff wasn't that important.

So here's the important part of the story:

On Friday, Raegan went down for the night around 9:30 pm. Of course we couldn't go to sleep that early, so we put her in our bed (no comments needed-I know this makes us horrible parents, but this is how WE are rollin' for the time being) surrounded by pillows and with a video/audio monitor pointed directly on her hot little self. Around midnight she wakes up screaming. We run upstairs to calm her down. I try holding, walking, singing, talking, lights on and off, and just laying with her. Nothing works. Then she starts making this strange noise. The only way I can describe it is like a cat or dog when they are trying to hack up a fur ball or something. Needless to say I'm scared to death at this point. I pass her off to Jeremy so I can call her pediatrician for advice.

He goes into the bathroom so she can see herself in the mirror. She LOVES to look at herself (wonder who she gets that from). It works! Guess I'll start with that next time. I still wanted to call the doc because she had a new food earlier that day and I wanted to make sure she wasn't having an allergic reaction.

My pediatricians recording ask you to listen to the entire recording as there have been some changes. I'll say! And I'm willing to bet I'm not the only parent that's not so excited about these changes.

They begin with your standard "if this is a life threatening emergency, hang up and dial 911." Then more for this press this and so on. Next, "please note that Childrens Health Care of Atlanta is now charging for their nurse advice line." Then, "if you'd like to have the doctor on call paged, please press #. Please also note you will be charged for non emergent calls. If you are calling about something that can wait until normal business hours, please do so."

First, CHA, aren't they a not for profit organization? If so, how can they get away with this? If not, I guess I'm just spoiled by them never charging in the past. Who are we new moms supposed to call now when our newborn is up crying for hours on end with no relief regardless of what we try? I guess we'll either pay their price or start calling relatives.

And second, my doctors office. Are you effin kidding me? I totally understand that you doctors don't want to be woken up in the middle of the night for a little scratch or a broken nail, but come on! I mean, who decides if this or that could have waited? I also understand that its a tough economy right now and all, but really, charging a scared first time parent for an after hours call to make sure their baby is ok or advise them to go to the ER? As if you don't charge enough already? I pay $20 every time I step foot in the doors there. Its $20 for 10 minute consult that results in a diagnosis of a diaper rash and continue using desitin. And its $20 for a 45 minute consult, 3 shots, diagnosis of a nasal infection and a prescription. Plus whatever the insurance companies pay.

I was in such disbelief about these charges for advice that I actually hung up and called back a second time to make sure I heard right. By now, Raegan has calmed down and is just about back asleep. She burped and farted several times and seemed to be fine. I decided to lay down with her and not find out how much that charge would be.

I'm now thinking about changing doctors. If anyone knows of a good pediatrician in Gwinnett County, let me know. I promise I won't call for a poopy diaper or anything "non emergent" like that...only things like my 7 month old sounds like an animal trying to hack up something.

The End

Laney

P.S. I'm sure I'd think differently if I were the doctor on the receiving end of this gripe, but I just had to vent!

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Changed POV

At 25, I was adamantly against a couple of things. 1-being a stay at home mom, & 2-driving a minivan (keep reading for clarification on this one). Here we are only 2 years later (which feels like so mich longer) and I find myself rethinking my point of view.

I always thought that children of stay at home moms were actually at a disadvantage. I thought they would lack social interaction and just not be as "public friendly" for lack of a better term. Seriously...what was I thinking?!?! Of course it is awesome if a mother is able to stay at home with her child(ren). And its not like those stay at homers never go out in public...I mean we still grocery shop, go out to eat, and do all kinds of stuff where we have to interact with the public. So there, the stay at home kids become "public friendly." And as for the social interaction there are stay at home moms all over the place, and a lot of them are part of mommy and me groups that meet regularly. The kids hang out while the mommys hang out. The result, mommy and child get to interact with others from their own generation.

Now the dreaded M word! At 25 I know I said many times "I would never drive a minivan" or "you wouldn't catch me dead in a minivan." I guess its about time I ate those words. Not that I am actually wanting one, but right now I'd drive just about anything other than a car. We have two cars, a 2 door Stratus (which is a stick) and a 4 door Avenger. If you've ever had to get an infant out of a rear facing car seat in any 2 door car, you know the hell I'm talking about. If you haven't, be glad and take my word for it...it SUCKS! The 4 door is way better, but still never seems big enough! I now know what they say is true, "how could something so little (i.e. the baby) need so much stuff?!" Between the car seat, stroller, diaper bag, blanket, buggy cover, and toys there's usually only 1 spare seat in the car. Ideally I'd be driving an SUV. But if it got me out of a car, I would totally drive a minivan right now.

So there you have it...2 short years and 1 small baby later...just 2 ways time and child has changed my point of view!